buddhism in india
Follow Us on:  
Major Buddhist Pilgrimages
Other Important Places
Our Tour Packages
DOWNLOAD - Annual Puja Schedule at Mahabodhi Temple
Bodhgaya Tour Every Month -
1st Week & 3rd Week
Bodhgaya Tour: 11 Days /10 Nights
Bodhgaya Tour: 8 Days / 7 Nights
Contact Us
Kolkata City Tour

The Buddha's teachings can be divided broadly into three main parts
  • The Three Signs of Beings
  • The Four Noble Truths
  • The Eightfold Path
The Three Signs of Beings :

The Three Signs of Being that the Buddha taught are the three basic characteristics common to all living things:

1. Impermanence. Everything in life is ever changing.
2. Nothing in life is perfect. There is unsatisfactoriness in life.
3. There is no permanent self. What we take with us to our next birth is our life force which he called Karma. This Karma depends on the way in which we lead our lives in this birth. If we lead a good life it will be Good Karma and vice versa.

The Four Noble Truths :

1. Suffering exists.
There is suffering in life and life is suffering. This includes pain, illness, old age, and eventually death. There are psychological suffering also like aloneness, frustration, boredom, apprehension, shame, disappointment and annoyance.

2. There is a cause for suffering.
There is also an origin for this suffering. This suffering is caused by desire conditioned by ignorance of the real character of things.

3. There is an end to suffering.
Suffering can be conquered and happiness attained; true happiness and gratification are achievable.

4. The means to end suffering is to follow the Eightfold Path.
The end of suffering can be achieved by adhering the Eightfold Path.
The Eightfold Path :

1. Right View This means the proper knowledge and understanding of The Four Nobel Truths of the Buddha.
2. Right Thought This means thinking about goodwill, harmlessness and renunciation and driving away thoughts of ill will, harmfullness and desire.
3. Right Speech This means to abstain from telling lies, using slanderous words or speaking harshly and to refrain from idle chatter.
4. Right Action This means refraining from doing unwholesome activities like abstaining from killing living beings, stealing and indulging in sexual misconduct.
5. Right Livelihood This means that one should earn a livelihood only through legal means which should be done peacefully, honestly, without coercion,threat,trickery or deceit to others. It should not bring harm or suffering to others.
6. Right Effort This means consciously preventing and abandoning unwholesome thoughts from arising and to practice developing wholesome thoughts from arising or developing in ones mind.
7. Right Mindfulness This means having a right presence of mind and attentiveness or awareness to our feelings, body and state of mind.
8. Right Concentration This means fixing our mind only on a single object excluding all other objects. By doing this, we can attain tranquillity of our mental functions and have a more concentrated and peaceful mind.
Copyright @ 2013 Rahul Tours & Travels All rights reserved
Designed & Developed By :Infosky Solutions